now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

week 4 . . . pizza & steak! March 13, 2017

Filed under: Weightloss — nowandevermore @ 10:43 AM
Tags: , , , , , ,

We made it through our 1st month!  We stuck with it and it really feels great!  Apparently recent studies show that it takes 2 months to make a new habit, but I like to think making it through one month of Nutrisystem has helped to create some new eating habits.

On Wednesday, I decided to make a flex dinner for myself and hubby.  I have always wanted to make a cauliflower pizza crust and I figured this was the perfect time.  I found a recipe that seems doable and I was right.  Here is the recipe I used.

For the toppings I used, Ragu Traditional Pizza sauce and Kraft Fat Free mozzarella cheese, some veggies and a few slices of Pepperoni that I microwaved to remove the grease (fat).  It ended up being 10 inches and hubby and I each ate half.  It smelled so good and I was so hungry I forgot to take a photo of the finished product, but here is one of the crust after I baked it and then of the pizza before I baked it.  YUM!

17240535_10155154121233707_3824289464020265683_o17240635_10155154123868707_3468145259263421380_o

I will probably tweak the recipe the next time and cut down on the parmesan cheese that goes into the crust and also the Mozzarella cheese on top.  But this will certainly be made again as hubby enjoyed and said it was filling.

Then of course on Saturday morning we had our official weigh-in.  I lost another 2.4 pounds for a total of 13.8 and hubby was down another 3.8 pounds for a total of 21.2.  This means he gets another Nutribear!  Definitely motivation for me!

As a treat to ourselves for making it through the 1st month we had agreed to have a steak dinner and that was Sunday (last night).  We ordered from Longhorn and boy was it good!  It was a little challenging to savor every bite as all I wanted to do was inhale it, but I tried my best to eat slowly.  We each had a steak and he had a baked potato and I had a sweet potato (each with no butter as we used butter spray) and each had a side salad.

After dinner I certainly felt a lot fuller than I have on Nutrisystem, but it was a tad bit uncomfortable.  And I even tried to eat a little less during the day to save up some calories for the big meal.  I was over my daily allotment by about 300-400 calories, but it was so worth it.  And I have no regrets!

Overall, I am quite pleased with the weight loss for the 1st month.  Excited to see what the next month brings.  My goal would be to get to a 20 pound weight loss.  Adding in more exercise and continuing to keep things on track should get me there.

Thanks for reading.

 

 

Leave a comment