now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

week 2 . . .more food, parent’s visit & popcorn February 27, 2017

Filed under: Weightloss — nowandevermore @ 2:20 PM
Tags: , , , , ,

YUM!  It was so great being able to add in more food last week.  The Turbo Week was tough, but so worth it.  Then starting last Saturday we are on the regular plan.  This is how a typical day looks for me:

Breakfast – Nutrisystem Meal + Power Fuel

Mid-Morning Snack – Power Fuel

Lunch – Nutrisystem Meal

Afternoon Snack – Power Fuel + Smart Carb

Dinner – Nutrisystem Meal

Evening Snack – Nutrisystem Snack

From the Nutrisystem website:

PowerFuels
The foods included in the PowerFuels group include high-quality proteins that contain essential amino acids as well as nuts and nut butters that contain healthy fats. PowerFuels are a great addition to your diet because it takes longer for your body to digest them, so they help keep you feeling full as you go about your day.

SmartCarbs
The term “SmartCarbs” refers to a specific group of carbohydrates that are nutrient-rich and lower on the Glycemic Index. These carbs are packed with fiber so they are digested more slowly, helping you feel fuller longer (and helping you keep weight off). Plus, they deliver vitamins, minerals and other important nutrients your body needs. Foods like whole grain rice, pasta and cereals, fresh or frozen fruit, and starchy veggies like beans, peas, corn and sweet potatoes all fall into the SmartCarb category.

And you also add in at least 4 servings of non-starchy veggies and water.

So after the Turbo Week, it felt like I was eating a LOT!  You spread out the meals so you never really feel hungry.  Sometimes I am late on my snacks, but I try to get them in and it really helps.

My parents came for a visit and I was a little worried but I tried to pick out my Nutrisystem meals to coincide with what they and our son would be eating.  One night they had spaghetti and meatballs and I had my chicken parmesan.  One night they just wanted pizza and I made my Nutrisystem pizza.  So it wasn’t so bad.  And we had our first Flex Meal for dinner.  Basically that is 2 Power Fuels and 1 Smart Carb.  Hubby and I had 4 ozs of Lean Roast Beef, 1/2 cup of sweet potato and some green beans.  I actually felt really full after it and it was low-calorie and high protein.

We played outside and went to a park as we were experiencing warmer than normal temps.  It was in the 70s and this is February in Chicago!  cRaZy!

I will not lie, I was a little worried at how the weight loss would be after adding in all the food after the week before, but I did my weigh in on Saturday and I had lost another 2.4 pounds, for a total of 9.4 pounds!  YAY! (Hubby is also down 2.4 pounds for a total of 14.4!)

Nutrisystem sends you a little stuffed bear for losing 10 pounds, 20, 30, etc.  So I was so close and ended up weighing myself the next day and was down a little more for a 10.2 pound loss!  So I will get my bear.  I know it is just a bear, but it is a physical representation and motivator.  Besides, I know my son will enjoy playing with it!  Picture to be posted when I get it!

I almost forgot!  Hubby and I were able to get away and see a movie while my parents watched our son.  It isn’t often that we get to do this, with his crazy schedule, etc., so it was much needed.  We saw “Hidden Figures” and it was so good! A must see for sure.  AND I HAD POPCORN!!!  Yes I had movie popcorn.  Since college, I have been eating buttered popcorn with Nacho cheese at the movies.  I love dipping the popcorn in the cheese.  It is so good.  We were able to plan the movie so that we went after breakfast.  I skipped my morning snack and had a small bag of popcorn with cheese.  Then we got back home for lunch.  I think I also skipped my Smart Carb in the afternoon.  But it was so worth it!  I did not feel any guilt at all!  I think that is important when you are on a diet.  If there is one day where you need something or you just want to treat yourself, it is a lot easier to do it and then get back on track, then not do it and be angry about being on a diet and feeling like you are depriving yourself.

So things are going well.  Good Old Aunt Flo has come for a visit today, so I am not going to stress about how I feel.  I know I am watching what I eat and if I don’t lose or don’t lose as much this week, all will be fine.  I am already so happy about how it is going.  Will I eat another treat this week?  Who knows?  If I really have a craving that I can’t fight (with this darn period) I will just give in, but make it something little.  But I may very well get past it and be fine.  Again, not going to stress.

Thanks for reading!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment