now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

we survived week 1 . . . February 18, 2017

Filed under: Weightloss — nowandevermore @ 2:52 PM
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I will tell you, it was not easy.  But it sure helped that hubby is doing this with me.

The first week of Nutrisystem is the Turbo Takeoff week.  They send you 7 days of Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner as well as Turbo shakes to have one for each mid-morning snack and a Nutri Crush bar to have as an afternoon snack.  Then add in 4 servings of vegetables and water.  Some of the meals were not too high in calories and some of the breakfasts did not have a lot of protein.  And I will tell you, some of the food they sent would not have been items I chose to eat (I am a bit of a picky eater) so it was not the easiest to eat, but I made it.

They make sure to tell you not to exercise too much, if you do it at all, because you are only taking in about 900-1000 or so calories a day.  So I didn’t really do much of anything, nor did I have the energy to do it.  The only bad time for me was Monday and into Tuesday.  I had a really bad migraine.  Not from the lack of food, but fromthe weather front that finally came through on Tuesday evening.  In the past when I have had them this bad, I have usually gone and gotten some comfort food, but not this time, so it was hard.  Pain with lack of energy, made for a rough time.

I also started using the MyFitnessPal app.  I had read some of the reviews of the Nutrisystem app NUMI and it did not sound like it would work too well.  I was so happy that I could scan all the bar codes of the Nutrisystem food and it would automatically be there!  Piece of cake….ooo…cake.  🙂

keep-calm-you-survived-first-week

So now the stats:  I did not do any measurements as I figure when the clothes fit looser I will know I lost inches. 🙂

As of this morning’s weigh-in I lost 7 pounds!  And hubby lost 12!  WOO HOO!!!

I realize that this is how it is supposed to work and now that we are into the 2nd week, our weight loss will slow, but I tell you, it is quite the motivator.

Today is the first day we get to add in other foods and actually get to eat the food that we chose, when we ordered.  And it has been quite good.  Hubby has the Men’s plan and gets to eat a few more items than I do, but it still is nice to be able to eat a nice snack of a hard boiled egg or almonds, etc.

For my plan (Women’s) I will have 2 flex meals a week (one lunch and one dinner).  So I will be responsible for making my own healthy lunch and dinner (not on the same day).  This is supposed to help transition off when you are done with the program.

So that is were we are.  I am motivated and hubby and I are going to start adding in some exercise.  I also broke down and bought a Fitbit One.  I was against buying a fitbit because I don’t like wearing things on my wrist and I have heard it wasn’t that accurate.  So I was happy to see that they had a clip on one.  So I am able to link the Fitbit app and keep everything tracked without having to manually input steps, etc.  This Fitbit also can monitor sleep, so I might try that out soon.

Stay tuned for Week 2!

Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

