now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

2014 pinterest challenge – week 3 January 19, 2014

Filed under: Pinterest Challange — nowandevermore @ 4:51 PM
Tags: , , ,

Before I talk about this week’s challenge, I need to follow-up on last weeks measuring cup challenge.  It did not turn out as good as I had hoped.  The Command strips holding the 2 largest cups actually fell off.  The cabinet is a laminate material so I am not sure if that is the reason or the strips don’t hold the weight that they claim they do (1/2 pound) or those 2 strips happen to be duds.  I will try again and see if they hold.  If not I will have to figure something else out.  In the meantime, I also need to figure out how to stop the clanking.  hmmmm . . . more to come.

As far as this week’s challenge, I thought I would try another recipe.  Here is the original pin of the Slow Cooker Melt in Your Mouth Cube Steak and Gravy.   I don’t like mushrooms, but hubby does and I can pick them off, so I thought this would be a good one to try and easy too!

I made this yesterday.  Got everything in the crock pot by 8:30am and set the timer for 8 hours.  I really do love crock pot cooking and will probably do a lot of it during this year of challenges. 🙂  After adding the gravy mixes I let it cook for another half hour and while doing this I steamed some green beans (The original picture looked good so why not.)  I also made a pasta side dish.  Got them plated and totally forgot to take my photo before we started eating; it looked so good.  Anyway, hubby stopped eating his and I was able to snap this.  He had already finished off one of the pieces of meat.

001

I would say it was a success.  Hubby kept making the “mmmmm” sound while he was eating it, which is always a good sign! 🙂  He also said he really liked it.  I really liked it too!  The meat was so tender and even though I do not eat mushroom, I think the flavor was wonderful.  I used 2 packets of mushroom gravy mix and one packet of brown gravy mix.  The gravy did not get as thick as I would have liked.  So next time I will probably take most of the liquid out and thicken it on the stove with a little cornstarch before serving.  But all in all a very good, VERY easy dish!

Thanks for reading!

 

2 Responses to “2014 pinterest challenge – week 3”

  1. storkchaser Says:

    Oooooh that looks really good! Ok, ok, ok. I’ll start busting out my slow cooker more often too… Thanks for the inspiration! 🙂


Leave a Reply

