now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

9 month checkup . . . October 7, 2013

Filed under: Baby — nowandevermore @ 3:27 PM
Tags: , , , , ,

We had Lil’ guy’s 9 month check up at the pediatrician today (technically 9.5 months).  It went well.  He weighed 20 lbs 9.5 ozs (a gain of 3 pounds since the 6 month).  He measured 29.75 inches (90th percentile).  Doc looked him over and checked him out and he said he looks great and is doing great!  He got his 3rd Hepatitis B vaccine today and also the 1st of 2 flu vaccine’s.  We go back in 5 weeks for the 2nd one and then see the doctor the 1st week of January for his 1 year check up.

I have been giving lil’ guy solids at lunch and dinner and doc said I can go ahead and start doing 3 meals a day.  I will start that at 10 months.  He said he might start weaning off of the breast milk 😦 so don’t be surprised.  I do hope he still keeps it up for the entire year.  Doc also said not to freak out about the gagging.  I have given lil’ guy some Gerber puffs and every other one he gags a little.  He said it is normal and he is not choking.  It is him just getting used to the different textures.  So I will start experimenting with more small pieces of food.  He still doesn’t have teeth, but he should do just fine.  I just hope Mommy does fine. 🙂

It felt like such a different kind of appointment.  He sat on the scale this time instead of lying down and he sat on the exam table as well.  It has been 3 months since his last appointment, but it felt as if he was so much more grown up.  Weird.  Heck, at this rate he will be walking into his 12 month appointment.

Oh and I almost forgot to mention that he did so well with the shots.  He got one in each thigh and cried as they were happening, but then once it was over he was no longer crying.  Actually he didn’t even shed any tears.  Such a brave lil’ guy.  And I am proud to admit I did not cry either!  A huge feat on my part!

Thanks for reading!

 

3 Responses to “9 month checkup . . .”

  1. Good for you! I cried like a baby at our 4 month shots yesterday, and I had an irrational urge to hurt the nurse! 😛


Leave a Reply

