now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

epic fail . . . September 28, 2013

Filed under: Baby — nowandevermore @ 5:14 PM
Tags:

So maybe not an epic fail or even a true fail, but I wasn’t proud of the result.  I have wanted to make Lactation cookies for a while now.  These are cookies that are supposed to help your milk supply.  I had been putting them off because I was just too lazy to make the trip to Whole Foods.  I don’t normally shop there, so like I said, just lazy.  I finally made my way to Whole Foods to pick up the steel-cut oats and brewers yeast.  Those 2 ingredients plus Flax seed Meal are supposed to help increase your milk.  There are other supplements out there, but with my history of gastrointestinal issues and possible side effects, I decided to try these instead.

I proceed to make them and realize that I forgot to set the butter out to soften.  I really don’t want to have to put these off for another day so I do my best to soften the sticks in the microwave.  After a few rounds using the “soften” program (Yes there is actually a program in the microwave to soften items such as sticks of butter), I give up and put the sticks in a bowl and set it for 30 seconds.  Of course that melted them almost all the way.  Not a good thing for baking.  I add the eggs and realize I have jumbo eggs not large, so I am sure the “extra egg” was not ideal either.   I then get everything mixed and proceed to scoop it into little balls and place them on the cookie sheet.  I place the 1st cookie sheet into the oven and watch as they slowly flatten.  Yes flatten.

Now I pride myself on being a good baker.  Not a fancy french pastry chef by any means, but I can bake what I like to call comfort baked goods really well.  Think cookies, cakes, cupcakes, pies, etc.  So seeing those cookies flatten out made my heart sink.  I baked until I thought they were ready (3 minutes more than the recipe called for and got them out.  Let them sit on the cookie sheet for a minute or 2 and then did my best to scrape them into the cooling rack.  As they cooled they got hard.  I know the purpose of this is not to win any contests or to give to friends, but it was a little bit personally disappointing.

The recipe called for chocolate chips.  I had planned on adding some chocolate chips and some butterscotch chips along with either walnuts or pecans, but I completely forgot to get them.  I had a small bit of butterscotch chips and white chocolate chips left over so I used both of those.  I ate a couple last night and they aren’t bad. There is definitely an after taste of sorts.  My guess it is the Brewer’s Yeast.  But all in all I can surely stand to eat a few each day if it means that I will get more milk.  I hope to see an improvement in a week or so.  It doesn’t always work, but it is better than taking the supplements that might cause me intestinal issues.

If anyone is interested here is the recipe (there are several out there, this is the one I tried, I also have another I may try after this batch is done).  By the way, I made probably 30 cookies and still have about 25 or so more I froze into balls to bake later.  They took 15 minutes per tray and I just wanted to be done with them.

Lactation Cookies

1 cup of butter

1 cup of sugar

1 cup of firmly packed brown sugar

4 tablespoons of water

2 tablespoons of flax seed meal (don’t skip this step and no substitutions)

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt (I added less and it seemed fine)

3 cups of steel-cut oats

1 cup chocolate chips (or what you prefer)

4 tablespoons of brewer’s yeast

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2.  Mix the flax seed meal and water and let sit for 3-5 minutes.

3.  Cream the butter, sugar and brown sugar.

4.  Add eggs and mix well.

5.  Add flax seed mix and vanilla, mix well.

6.  Sift flour, brewer’s yeast, baking soda and salt.

7.  Add dry ingredients to butter mix.

8.  Thoroughly stir in oats and chocolate chips.

9.  Scoop onto baking sheet, approximately 1″ balls.

10.  Bake for 12 minutes (mine took longer)

11.  Allow cookies to set for a few minutes before removing from tray.

12.  Enjoy!

Thanks for reading!

 

2 Responses to “epic fail . . .”

  1. Good for you for putting in the effort to get the ingredients and try this out. I forget to soften my butter all the time, but saw the best tip on Pinterest. If you forget, use a grater to grate the stick of butter like you would a block of cheese, and it softens it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

