now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

9 months . . . September 24, 2013

Filed under: Baby — nowandevermore @ 12:35 PM
Tags: , , , , , ,

On September 8th Lil’ guy turned 37 weeks and 2 days.  Not much of a milestone, but that was actually equal to the amount of time I was pregnant with him.  Just a fun fact.  But on September 21st he turned 9 months!  I know I say this every month, but the time is just going by so fast.  I actually starting thinking of his first birthday party.  I am glad it falls on a Saturday so we can actually have the party on his birthday.  I know we are going to keep it kind of small.  But it is fun to think of what kind of decorations to get and if he will finally be crawling then or be walking and if he will finally have teeth by then.

013

Still no teeth, but I am not that concerned.  Some babies are slow to get teeth.  Just like some are slow to crawl or walk.  I really think he is moments away from crawling as he gets on his hands and knees and rocks back and forth a lot and also propels himself forward.

He has started babbling more and says Ma Ma more.  Just run-on’s like Da Da, but still fun to hear.  I have gotten the hang of getting him in and out of the car seat more.  When I am getting him out he actually starts to pull his way out.

Other than that not too much going on.  The weather has been really nice lately and we have gone on a 2-mile walk several days in a row.  It feels so good to be exercising again and I know the fresh air is good for everyone.

His sleep is still going well.  He is usually asleep by 7:30-8pm.  Some nights he cries some nights he doesn’t.  He sleeps through until around 6-7am.  If he does wake up crying before then I give it a few minutes and he usually falls back to sleep.  Then once he gets up I feed him and am able to put him back down and he usually falls back to sleep and gets up for the day around 8:30-9am depending on when he first got up.  Napping is still hit and miss.  Some days he will only nap 30 minutes at a time.  Other days, like yesterday, he did 35 minutes and then an almost 2 hour nap.  If he does long naps I can get 2 out of him.  If they are shorter I try for 3.

I introduced pureed chicken on September 13th.  He likes it and I just made some pureed pears yesterday.  I really do enjoy being able to make his food for him.  I think it is much cheaper than buying baby food and I like that I know what is in it. 🙂  And most importantly he enjoys them.

My milk supply is not that great, but I am doing what I need to do for him.  I introduced an additional bottle in the middle of the day.  So he gets 6 ounces of formula then and an 8 ounce bottle at night.  I pump in the evening after he is in bed and if I am lucky can get about 2.5 ounces (2-3 pumps over and hour or 2).  Yesterday I took about 3 bottles that I had pumped the last few nights and gave him breast milk instead of formula in the afternoon.  Not sure if it was that or the fact that he hadn’t napped well the day before but after that is when he napped for almost 2 hours.  I will say it was my milk that did it. 🙂

I set up a little play area in his room and put him in there with some of this toys each day so that he has time to play by himself.  I have the free camera we got set up so I can watch him.  He is getting into that clingy stage a bit.  If he is in a position to see me if I walk down the hall he will start to cry but then will stop after a minute.  Then if he sees me again he will cry again for about a minute then be ok.  I have to fight the urge sometimes to go “rescue” him, as I know he is ok.  Besides, I am usually trying to get some house work done, so it is good for both of us.

The times I take him out to run errands he is such a good boy.  I took him with me to get my flu shot and he did so well.   The other day I had to run to CVS and then to Walgreens (CVS didn’t have what I needed) and each time someone talked to him and he just smiled at them in response.  One time he started to babble.  I am glad that he doesn’t act shy around other people.  I don’t know if he ever will or not.  But a few people commented that he was such a good boy and so sweet.  I have to agree.  I just love this little guy so much!

Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

