now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

tell all tuesday – time June 11, 2013

Filed under: tell all tuesday — nowandevermore @ 5:24 PM

It started around the middle of the 2nd trimester of my pregnancy.  Time started moving fast.  There have been times in my life when it has happened, but the “phenomenon” never lasted that long.  However, it has continued to move at a speed faster than I am comfortable.

When you think about being pregnant for 9 months, it seems so long.  Three fourths of a year!  The first trimester and half way into the 2nd, time seemed like it was moving along in slow motion.  Between the morning sickness, the bleeding and the exhaustion, I was ready for the pregnancy to be at its end.  But then after I got through the worst of the morning sickness and the bleeding stopped, I was ready to enjoy the rest of the pregnancy before our lives would be forever changed.  But time seemed to kick into high gear.  I had these grand plans of getting things in order in the house.  Cleaning this, cleaning that.  I was going to have everything organized so that I had nothing to do after the baby came except spend time with him.

What a joke!  I started not sleeping that great because I was uncomfortable, then I just would not have the energy to do much.  Before I knew it, Thanksgiving was here.  I was down to 6 weeks left to go.  Then 2 and a half weeks before my due date, our lives changed.  I was out of time!  I was not ready.  Physically I was, mentally I was not.  But we had no more time.

My time in the hospital was short as well.  The nurses wanted the floor closed for Christmas, and honestly I was ready to go home.  But I could have used more time in the hospital.

After being home and recovering from the c-section, time was moving along at an ok rate.  At least that is what I thought.  Now that our little guy will be 6 months old NEXT WEEK, that is obviously not the case.  Time has flown by.  Not just looking at the last 6 months as a whole, but each day feels like it passes in about half the time.

I get up in the morning and change  him, dress him, give him his medicine and feed him.  Then I get something to eat.  Then it is time to put him down for his 1st nap.  This can take 10-25 minutes depending on him.   Then he sleeps.  I never know how long and I typically spend this time going through my emails and catching up on some news and FB posts.  Then he is up and I spend time with him.  Tummy time, play time, feed him, change him, I eat some lunch and then the next thing I know it is time for him to go down for another nap.  10-25 minutes to get him to sleep.  During this time I try to get some things done such as dishes, a load of laundry started, or paperwork that seems to pile up on my desk.  Of course, as it never fails, the baby doesn’t nap that long and he is up again.  Change him, more play time, perhaps some alone time in his crib, feed and try to put down for another nap depending on what time it is.  The next thing I know it is 6:30pm and I will soon start the process to get him to go to bed.  Change him, massage with lotion, dress into PJs, story time with Daddy then formula and nurse to sleep.  The bedtime routine takes about 45 minutes and then nursing to sleep could take 10-25 minutes.  Sometimes more, sometimes less.  Typically he is good for an hour then he wakes up.  I nurse back down and we are lucky if he sleeps for a 3 hour stretch.  We are usually up during that stretch relaxing, eating dinner or maybe catching up on some work.  We head to bed between 11pm-12am.  He typically gets up shortly after and then  he is up 3-8 times after that.  I nurse back to sleep each time and then start my day over again around 7:30-8:30am.

So each day that passes feels like it passes WAY too fast!  There really aren’t enough hours in a day.

I understand why people say “cherish the time you have with your baby for they won’t be a baby for too long.”  At this rate he will be walking in a blink of an eye.  So if I don’t get to that last load of laundry until the next day or the day after that, it is ok.  Time is fleeting and we must make the most of it.  I do just wish it would slow down a bit for now.

Thanks for reading!

 

3 Responses to “tell all tuesday – time”

  1. At that age he should be sleeping better…you poor thing. Is he eating cereal or food? I know some drs wait until six months because they thinkmit can cause allergies but that has been debunked. Also if he is getting up that much and eating he may need food..if he is just looking for comfort and not eating….maybe he needs some self sooth techniques..you need your sleep!

    • Sleep has always been a challenge with him. We actually started some cereal yesterday. Also, tried sleep training and just did not work right now. So we are hoping that the cereal helps for now. I don’t think he is hungry all those times. He gets gas and is uncomfortable. Is is a work in progress. 🙂

  2. You are a great mom!


Leave a Reply

