now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

favorites friday . . . June 7, 2013

Filed under: favorites friday — nowandevermore @ 11:25 AM
Tags: , , ,

So in my first installment of Favorites Friday I am going to talk about the sound machine.  I was apprehensive about playing music or some sort of sound to help our little guy to sleep.  I did not want him to be dependent on it.  After doing some research I decided to try some “white noise.”  I bought a cd and played that on repeat.  The only trouble was that when the CD came to the end, the volume would decrease and there would be a pause in between the end and the beginning of the noise.  This was not ideal.  I even tried to modify the track on the CD by using a sound editor program and making it longer.  It was better but it still had the same issue of no noise at all when it was getting ready to start over.

So I turned to the internet and found this.HoMedics® SoundSpa Sound Machine   The Homedics Soundspa Sound Machine.  I read the reviews and it seemed like the perfect solution.  And I will tell you, I love it!

It has 6 sounds to choose from.  I personally like the Rain sound.  I think Pete does too.  I turn this on every night and also for naps.  It is part of his sleep routine.  He knows when he hears it that it is time for him to sleep.  At least I think that is what he must think.  🙂

Since hubby and I both work at home, it really helps drown out phone calls and just us moving about our daily lives and also the dog.  And when he gets a little older and gets into a regular sleep pattern I will be able to gradually lower the sound each night until it is off.  I don’t want him to have to fall asleep to it when he is much older.

I typically make my purchases on Amazon.com.  They usually have the best prices and I am a Prime member so I get free 2-day shipping.  I do, of course, shop around to make sure I am getting the best price.  When I purchased this the Amazon price was $19.97.  The Bed, Bath & Beyond price was $19.99.  In this instance, Amazon was still better because I would not have to pay tax, but I would have to wait 2 days to get it.  Then I remembered that I had a Bed, Bath & Beyond coupon for 20% off.  No-brainer!  Even with tax it was cheaper (less than $17.00) than Amazon and I could get it right away.  (Side note:  Bed, Bath & Beyond and Buy Buy Baby are the same company.  So the coupons and gift cards are interchangeable!)

So that is the skinny on my first Favorites Friday.

Thanks for reading!

 

4 Responses to “favorites friday . . .”

  1. Great idea, we live in the country and so from day to day the sounds around the house change from crop dusters to barking dogs to crows and tractors. I hope I remember this in 7+ months!


Leave a Reply

