now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

ob appt . . . September 14, 2012

Filed under: Pregnancy — nowandevermore @ 1:32 PM
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Had our 23 week ob appointment this morning.  Blood pressure was 100/70.

Since hubby was with me this time I had the doctor go over the ultrasound results again.  Baby was 11 ounces (they like to see 10-12 at 20 weeks).  I was  19 weeks, 2 days so that is right on track.  He was over the 50th percentile, which is good.  His neck fold was 4.6.  They like it to be under 6.  This is measured to look for chromosomal abnormalities.  And everything else measured great!

The doctor also did the fundal height measurement on this visit.  The fundal height is a measure of the size of the uterus used to assess fetal growth and development during pregnancy. It is measured from the top of the mother’s uterus to the top of the mother’s pubic bone in centimeters.  Basically he takes a tape measure and places it on my belly.

My measurement was 24cm.  So that would indicate I was 24 weeks along.  By the calendar I am 23 weeks and 2 days, so the doctor said the growth is right on target.  YAY!

I asked him about the shortness of breath and he said it is most likely due to the shifting of the baby.  So if I get uncomfortable I should try different positions.

I also mentioned that the other day I was listening to our little guy’s heartbeat (I have not done that every day since I started feeling him move).  Well it was reading in the 150s and then it spiked to 200bpm.  It freaked me out and I lifted the doppler off of my belly and placed it back and it was in the 150s again.  Well, he said they like to see a spike.  When I start the NST (fetal non-stress test) they will listen to heart for an extended period of time and they like to see spikes indicating good movement.  So I just happen to hear a spike when I was listening.  I was relieved!!!

I talked to him about my breasts (he was not the doc I saw 2 weeks ago) and he reiterated that a lot of women start producing milk this early and it is a good thing.  It should mean that I should be a good producer after the baby comes.  I hope he is right and I hope baby takes to it.  🙂

The doctor I saw 2 weeks ago told me that along with the flu shot I need to get the Pertussis booster as well.  I am glad I was told because I would not have known this.  So this time I asked if hubby needs to get one and he said anyone coming into contact with the baby a lot needs to get one.  For those who don’t know, Pertussis is Whooping cough.  Today, my doctor told me that a baby contracted it from his mother at birth and died at 5 weeks.  Babies cannot get the vaccine until they are 2 months.  It is heartbreaking.  So we are getting vaccinated this weekend!  And I will be calling Grandma and Grandpa and telling them to get the booster.  We all got the initial vaccine when we were babies but over time it has started to wear off so adults need to get the booster to be covered.  Seems like a no-brainer to me!

We also asked the doctor if there were any pediatricians that he can recommend.  He said absolutely and gave us the doctor’s name.  She is in a different building in the same office park as my OB and he said he took his kids to her.  I was glad to hear that.  So in the next couple of months we will schedule a meeting with her to see if she is right fit for us.  He has other names, but after doing some research online this morning she may be the one we use.

So overall it was a great appointment.  We go back in 4 weeks and then after that I start my every 2 weeks visits.  WOW!

Between now and my next appointment on October 12 I have to go in for a 1 hour glucose test to test for gestational diabetes.  Hopefully this will be the only glucose test I have to take.  Basically I will fast for 2 hours, go in and then have to drink a sugary drink.  They will take blood and if I pass I am done.  If I fail then I have to go in for a 3 hour Glucose test.  I won’t talk about that as I am going to say that I won’t need it! 🙂

Then on October 18th we will get to see our little guy again on the ultrasound.  I am so happy!!!

Thanks for reading!

 

One Response to “ob appt . . .”

  1. HAPPY HAPPY JOY JOY KEEP ON GROWING BABY O!!!


Leave a Reply

