now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

never forget . . . September 11, 2012

Filed under: Misc Stuff — nowandevermore @ 11:22 AM

Today marks the 11th anniversary of the tragedy of September 11, 2001.

As I sat watching the news today, I remembered it like it was yesterday.  I had started my new job 5 months prior, I was in the process of looking for a house, all seemed right with the world.

I was sitting at my desk at work.  I was typically the first to arrive in the morning.  I had my radio on getting ready to listen to one of my favorite baseball players being interviewed.  Then the DJs reported that a plane had flown into one of the towers at the world trade center.  I immediately went online and saw the photo on CNN’s website.  At that time they were not even sure what kind of a plane that it was let alone that it was a terrorist attack.  I called my mom at her office to let her know and then things just got worse after that.

I felt very numb the entire day.  Not being able to get much of any work done.  I remember talking with a few friends from my old job in downtown St. Louis.  They told me that they were given the ok to go home if they wanted.  Frankly I would have gone home if I had still worked there with all the tall buildings, etc.

I watched news coverage the entire day online.  It all seemed so surreal.  I didn’t want to believe it.  The next morning, I stopped by the local convenience store and grabbed a newspaper.  You could see it on all of the customer’s faces; the hurt, sorrow and disbelief of the proceeding days events.

Eleven years later, we still remember.  It is still a hole in our hearts.  A hole that will forever be there.

We move on with life.  Nine months after that tragedy I closed on my house.  Five years after that I met my now husband and now we are expecting our first child.  A child that will never know the pain that the entire country felt on that day so long ago.  We will tell him of those events and he will learn about it in school and in the history books.  I only pray to God that he will not have to experience something like that in his lifetime.

So on this day I want to remember those who lost their lives on that September morning.  Those men and women who have lost their lives defending us in the events to follow and those men and women who continue to fight for our freedoms, trying to make things safer for us and for our children.

Thanks for reading.

 

Leave a Reply

