now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

18 weeks . . . August 8, 2012

Filed under: Pregnancy — nowandevermore @ 9:55 AM
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Almost half way there!  So hard to believe.

I haven’t had any morning sickness since last Thursday (knock on wood). So I am hoping it is going away . . . finally!!!

Been a bit up and down emotionally this past week.  I read some other blogs and there has been some heartbreak on a few of them.  Negative HPTs, miscarriages, baby born 2 months early (baby ok and mom is getting there), bed rest, etc.  My heart goes out to all of those women.   All of this just adds to the emotional feelings.  And it makes it difficult sometimes to embrace where I am in the pregnancy and truly be happy.

Don’t get me wrong, there is not a day that goes by that I don’t thank God for this baby.  But it is hard to just relax about the pregnancy and know that everything will be ok.  I am sure all pregnant women feel this to some extent, but having gone through everything we went through to get to this point, there is always worry that something else will go wrong at some point.

I have my ultrasound next Thursday and I am excited to find out what we are having.  But at the same time they tell us what we are having, they also measure everything to make sure the baby is developing the way that he/she should be.  And this is where I start to worry.  Have I been giving the baby enough nutrients to grow strong and healthy?  I know I haven’t been eating the best because of the morning sickness.  Have I caused any issues for our baby?  I am sure it is because it has been so long since we had a look at the little one (10 weeks).  I do listen to the heartbeat everyday.  I haven’t had any spotting at all for about 5-6 weeks.  All I can do is pray that everything is ok (and continue to make better food choices as my morning sickness subsides).

With each milestone we get that much closer to bringing this baby home and that will truly be a joyous day!!!

Thanks for reading.

P.S.  For those of you who don’t know, I have been updating my weekly bump photos every week.  Check out that page if you want to see the progression. 🙂

 

5 Responses to “18 weeks . . .”

  1. Katie Says:

    I worry every day too!! I was feeling her move at 17 weeks but I dont think I have felt her much at all in the past few days. Like I dont know if it’s gas, food, or baby?? So I constantly worry. I have my anatomy scan in 6 days so I just need to breathe and relax. I can’t wait to find out what you are having as well! It is SOOO exciting! Also, are you involved in any of the facebook groups? There are a few for those of us that are due in January and I really enjoy them.

    Love Bugs of January 2013
    Beans of 2013
    Pregnant and Due in January 2013

    I didn’t know which was better so I joined all 3 thinking I would pick the best one but I love them all. And there are a few more bloggers out there that are due with us in January. I joined their pages too so I think you can see them on my blog…

    Have a great day! Katie

  2. I totally relate to being emotional and worrying that something may happen in the back of my mind. I have also thought so many times about whether my baby is getting the nutrients it needs (’cause I don’t always eat the healthiest, either). I am looking forward to seeing baby on the screen and having the (hopefully) relief I need knowing that everything is okay. I’ll be praying the same for you and your baby! Ok, time for me to catch up on your bump photos now. 🙂


Leave a Reply

