now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

the ultrasound . . . May 11, 2012

Filed under: Pregnancy — nowandevermore @ 10:15 AM
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

So being the person that I am, I was pretty nervous going into today (as I have been with each beta).  I had in my mind what I wanted to see on the u/s and was worried that I would not see it.  So I was on the table waiting for the nurse and she came in and said, “all I am expecting to see today is a black circle it the uterus (gestational sac).   It is still early so seeing that would be great.”

But I told myself, I want to see more!  So she inserted the wand and right away saw the black circle, clear as day.  I was glad to see it.  Then she moved the probe around some more and there it was . . . the beginning of a yolk sac!  I was so happy I started to cry!  It was so surreal!  I got a beautiful printout of it and have placed it on my desk so I can look at it everyday!  Just in case I think this is not real!  I can look and know it is!

I go back next Friday (gonna be a long wait!).  And hopefully we will get to see the heartbeat.  The nurse said it still may be a bit early, but she had a feeling we would get to see it!  🙂

Oh and for those who thought we were having twins.  The nurse said there is still a chance that one might show up in the next ultrasound.  She has seen it happen, so we will see.  But right now there is at least one in there!

Some info for those that aren’t familiar:

The gestational sac (or gestation sac) is the only available intrauterine structure that can be used to determine if an intrauterine pregnancy exists, until the embryo is identified.

The yolk sac is a membranous sac attached to an embryo.  It functions as the developmental circulatory system of the human embryo, before internal circulation begins.  It is the first element seen in the gestational sac during pregnancy, usually at 5 weeks gestation.

Thanks for reading!

 

5 Responses to “the ultrasound . . .”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Yipee!!!!!! :)))

  2. Stork Chaser Says:

    Wow congrats! What a relief it must have been to see that beautiful sac! Can’t wait for the next ultrasound. 😉

  3. Taylor Says:

    What a pretty picture 🙂 I am so excited that this is happening for you!

  4. Thank you Lord!!!!! praying and praying!

  5. ilovemacaroniart Says:

    Congrats! Thanks for the definitions, they were very useful!!


Leave a Reply

