now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

PUPO!!! April 21, 2012

Filed under: IVF/FET Journey — nowandevermore @ 3:21 PM
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I am officially PUPO!  I was actually about noon today.  Today went great!

I didn’t sleep that well, I think it was all the excitement of that day.  Got ready to go and had very little traffic.  We got to the building and got the same exact parking space right in front!  So far so good!

Got to the surgery center on the 3rd floor and there was no one in the waiting room.  Signed the paperwork, the doctor was actually out there and I asked her a couple of questions I had (tums is ok to take for heartburn and I continue taking the baby aspirin at least through the 1st trimester).  Then the nurse came and got us and walked us to our waiting chair.  It was a different on from Wednesday but still one I had not been in before and the nurse was also new to me.  I did have to empty my bladder a bit as it was really badly uncomfortable.  Then the doc asked me how things were and she made me drink a small bottle of water.  UGH!  Then she came over to talk to us about the results.

So officially we got 4 eggs and 3 were mature.  All 3 fertilized by ICSI.  And all 3 were still around.  They measured them at 10:50am today and here is what we had.

1 – 8 cell (grade 4)
1 – 6 cell (grade 3-4)
1 – 4 cell (oval grade 3)

I have come to realize that doctors grade embryos with different scales.  Some use letters such as Grade A and others use numbers such as 1 being the best.  In this case 4 is the best!

WOO HOO!  Yes we had one at 4 and one at a 3 to 4.  The doctor was REALLY REALLY happy with the 8 cell and 6 cell.  The 4 cell was small and had an oval shape to it (pictures to follow tomorrow or Monday), but you never know.

As I was on the table waiting for the doctor to finish everything, I felt pretty peaceful (aside from the VERY full bladder and the u/s tech pushing on it).  They had some nice music playing.  The doctor took the catheter out and the embryologist checked to make sure it was empty, then the doc took the speculum out and said she was very pleased.  The embryos went in perfectly and right into the right spot.  She showed me on the u/s monitor (another picture to post).  I started getting a little emotional but kept it in.

I stood up and as I was walking out, I thanked the doctor again and she hugged me and right after I stepped out of the room and started walking down the hallway, I burst out in tears.  I apologized to the nurse who was walking with me and just told her I was so happy.  And I was.  I had never felt that way after the transfer before.  Such happiness and peace.

Now for bedrest.  🙂

Thanks for reading!

 

7 Responses to “PUPO!!!”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Sooo excited for you!! Sounds like you have some great embabies there! I hope they’re nice and sticky and get all snuggled in 🙂

  2. SOO! Excited for you!!! Can’t wait to see pics!!

  3. YAy!!!!! bring on the twins!

  4. Lori Clapper Says:

    WOW! I’ve never actually known anyone with TRIPLETS before! 🙂 (I’m praying BIG!!!) LOL! Can’t wait to hear the announcement, Mel! So excited for you!!! Much love to you, Peter, and the BABIES!

  5. Aiza Says:

    Yay! Congrats! Sending positive vibes your way. Stick babies stick!!!

  6. Princess Says:

    Congrats girlie!!! I’m soooo excited for you, hoping for strong, sticky and healthy babies!!!

  7. happysiera Says:

    happy pupo weekend!!! YAY for three healthy embabies!!!


Leave a Reply

