now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

trigger . . . April 16, 2012

So here is what my schedule looks like:

I will take my regular doses of meds tonight.

325IU Follistim
75IU Menopur
10IU Lupron

Then at 2:45am, yes that is AM, I will take my trigger injection (Ovidrel).  Then I am finished with my injections!  WOO HOO!!

Tuesday I will recover from getting up at 2:30 to inject myself and then Wednesday we will show up at the surgery center about 12:30pm and my retrieval will be at 1:45pm.  Not hip on being without food or water from Midnight to then, but it is a small sacrifice to make.

Also on Tuesday I start the Doxycycline and then Wednesday after the retrieval I will add in the Medrol and Endometrin.

Then I will anxiously await the call to see how many embryos we have.  If we do a 3 day transfer (which I am pretty much assuming we will) it will be sometime on Saturday.

Have I mentioned how excited I am?  I just really feel like this will be the one.  We had a different protocol, yes I was hoping for about 15 eggs, but I will take what we have as long as they are mature and give us good embryos, which I believe they will.

I am proud of myself that I have stayed positive most of this cycle.  Sure I had a few moments here and there where I had some doubt.  But I told myself to stop that and go back to my positive thoughts.  I ate better this cycle.  Heck I even used my right arm for all the blood work (always used the left in the past).  So that was even different.  And I am also going to take baby aspirin this time starting the day after the transfer.  I have heard good things about it and even the IVF coordinator agreed that it would be good.

So I have done everything in my power to make this a great cycle.  Now the rest of up to God.  I will continue to think good thoughts and just know that our miracle will be here soon!  And on that note, here is a little something I made from one of the gifts from the care package.

Thanks for reading!

 

10 Responses to “trigger . . .”

  1. So excited ! Praying so hard!

  2. Oh and getting up at 2 45 AM…get used to it! Lol

  3. Jen you are so funny! 🙂 Thanks so much!

  4. happysiera Says:

    love this post + your enthusiasm! sooo excited for you!
    bummer on the hour … but hopefully it is your magic hour 🙂

  5. ilovemacaroniart Says:

    Good luck! Why the baby aspirin?

    • Aspirin makes your blood platelets less sticky, allowing blood to travel more easily through the placenta to your baby. And it has also been thought to help with implantation of the embryo. This will be my first time taking it with IVF. My doctor didn’t really say I should, but she said if I wanted to I can. There are some women who have clotting issues who need to be on it. But I was told it can’t hurt and it was ok as long as I wait until AFTER the retreival so there isn’t a lot of bleeding then. Always ask your doctor to make sure.

  6. ttb2 Says:

    I bet your E2 jumped between your last blood draw and the ER (tomorrow) and you will have a few more mature eggs. I am keeping my fingers crossed for you and I REALLY admire your positive attitude.

  7. Roxxroxx Says:

    I remember this feeling so well..! super exciting! Unfortunately it didn’t work out yet for us, but I have everything crossed for you… 🙂


Leave a Reply

