now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

friends . . . April 13, 2012

This post is dedicated to my friends.  Friends I have met in real life and those I have yet to meet face to face.

IVF is a lot easier to go through when you have friends who will support you, be there for you when you need them, be there when you need to vent, need a laugh or just need a to have a good cry.

First and foremost, my husband, my best friend.  He has been through it all with me.  He always tries to make me laugh when I want to cry and when I really want to cry he let’s me.  He also puts up with my bitchy hormonal self full of the IVF meds.  Although he does not give me my shots (I am too much of a control freak), he is right there next to me as I give them to myself, being my moral support and getting my gauze pad ready.

Then there are those friends who I have met face to face, whether back in high school, at work, or even because we got our dog from the same breeder.  They have been someone I can cry to as well.  They help me to stay positive and are then when I need to talk.  And one has even helped me out when I needed to have surgery and my hubby had to work.  She even made her Sunday free this coming weekend in case I had to have my egg retrieval.  (Hubby has to work.)  She is such a good person and I am lucky to be her friend.

And then there are those who I have yet to meet face to face.  I have met them through our dogs breeder and through babycenter and their own blogs.  It is such a wonderful thing when you can have such a connection with people you have never met.  One of those friends is currently struggling with her own medical issues (not related to infertility) and yet she is the most positive person I know.  She has said such beautiful things to me and helped me when I was in a funk.  She is just about the strongest person I know for what she has gone through.  It helps me to remind myself that we all have the capacity to be strong.  And the others I have met through babycenter and their blogs are also pretty strong women.  Some are still struggling with having that baby, while others have finally achieved that first hurdle of getting pregnant and making it past some of the milestones.  Everyone is always so supportive and always cheering me (and everyone else) on.  Just today I received a “care package” from one of those friends who is currently 10 weeks pregnant with twins!  Thank you and thank all of you for being such wonderful friends.  I am glad that I met each and every one of you.

Here is the care package.  Some socks, “lucky” word magnets, strawberry lemonade mix and even some doggie treats.

Thanks for reading!

 

One Response to “friends . . .”

  1. Laurie Says:

    What a delightful “care package”!! Didn’t someone once say that true friends are the “glue” in our lives? Well, I am so blessed to have you in my life 🙂


Leave a Reply

