now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

hello, my name is anal . . . April 3, 2012

Yes I am an anal person.  Used to be something I did not want to admit, but I have come to embrace it over the years.  I believe it helped me excel in my work as a tax accountant and in what I do now.  And yes I even use it during this TTC journey.  Which, as some of you know, kind of forces any kind of spontaneity out the window, but ya gotta do what ya gotta do!

So tonight as I prepare for the beginning of IVF #3, I released a little of my inner anal self and prepared a “shot record.”  Going through IVF can be a daunting task.  So any kind of “tool” I can find or create to help not feel so stressed I am all for!  There is nothing worse than thinking, you may have messed something up or done the wrong thing with IVF.  So here is what I have created for this cycle.

As you can see I have dates listed through April 16.  I am estimating that will be my date of retrieval, but who knows.  I have all my shots listed and amounts.  Follistim and Menopur are only listed through the 8th because I will have a monitoring appointment on the 9th and the amounts may change, so I will write those in.

Also the lower schedule is for the Follistim Pen.  For those who have used it you will know that the pen comes with a similar schedule to keep track of your usage.  I have several 300IU, one 600IU and one 900IU cartridges, so I will need to keep track of how much is left in each after the injections.  And since I am starting off at 225IU, I just realized that there will be days when I give myself 5 injections, instead of 4.  I am not complaining.  I would gladly give myself an injection every hour, if it meant I would end up pregnant.

So there is it.  For those of you going through the same thing, feel free to use it.  I love to be able to help anyway I can.  Can’t wait to start checking those injections off!

I have also commandeered the right side of the bathroom vanity.  I have put all of my meds (except the ones that have to be refrigerated), the sharps container, alcohol pads, gauze pads, needles and syringes on the counter and am ready for tomorrow!

I am still feeling positive!  This is going to be the one!  I KNOW IT!!  And I am actually excited to get going!  Such a different feeling than I experienced in June of last year right before I started IVF #1.  I felt like such a novice and today I feel like a seasoned professional.  Not something to brag about when it comes to TTC, but I hope I can use my knowledge and expertise to help those who may be going through this for the first time.  Sure those of you doing your 1st IVF will still be nervous or scared.  That is normal!  But if I can help to ease your mind about anything, then I am happy.  That is one reason I have this blog.

Thanks for reading!

 

6 Responses to “hello, my name is anal . . .”

  1. Andrea Says:

    I just love your attitude! I’m so happy to be cycling with someone that has such a positive outlook! We got this!!

  2. ttb2 Says:

    I am keeping my fingers crossed for you. Your positive attitude is a wonderful thing. I am going to take a page from your book and try to be more positive about this next IVF. Thanks 🙂

    • Thanks! It isn’t always easy, but this time when I have those negative thoughts I catch myself and get them out of my head as fast as I can. Keeping fingers crossed for you too!

  3. Rachel S Says:

    I found a link to your blog on your BabyCenter signature, hope you don’t mind me coming by and commenting. I am also on my third try of IVF and I love what you did with the whole Follistim chart. The pen that I got for my injections didn’t come with a injection recorder so I have just been using a spare piece of paper. I am very similar to you where I like to have it all laid out where I can see it. But I put it all on a calendar instead of a spreadsheet. Good luck on your IVF attempt, I hope it is successful!!

    • Thanks for stopping by Rachel! If you check out my November 11 post from last year you can see the calendar I also use. It keeps tracks of the meds (names) and appointments. I love being arganized and it helps too! Third time’s the charm!!!


Leave a Reply

