now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

appropriate ? February 27, 2012

Filed under: Misc Stuff — nowandevermore @ 6:07 PM
Tags: , ,

Two posts in one day . . . wow!

Ok, as I am not yet a parent, I may be off, but I do have an opinion on what I think I would do in this situation.

My hubby and I went to see “The Vow” today.  My question regards the appropriateness of allowing a young child to see a movie with this rating.  I do not consider myself to be a prude, but how many of you would bring a (I’m guessing) 3-year-old to see a movie that states the rating is PG-13 (for an accident scene, sexual content, partial nudity and some language)?  How much does a 3-year-old understand what they are looking at?  My hubby was reading the Wall Street Journal when he was 3 years old.  And if it isn’t a big deal for them to see backside nudity, a couple on the floor, in bed, etc, or hear profanity, why have the rating?

I know if you are the parent you can choose to let your child see whatever it is you want them to see (I am sure a lot of kids see a lot worse in this country).  But I guess for me, I would not take my child to see a movie that I would deem inappropriate for a 3-year-old.  Three years old is young and who wants their kids to grow up so fast?  Kids grow up so fast as it is nowadays.  A lot faster than I did way back in the dark ages. LOL

I don’t want it to come off as though I am trying to say that the little girl who was in the movie theater with her mom, Aunt and Grandma (I overheard them in the restroom after the movie) is now going to be scarred for life.  But I guess it just gives a moment to tell myself, given the opportunity, I would probably not take my child to see a movie  like that at that age.  I am not saying that I would hold fast to the 13 age limit.  I know it is a guideline and it is up to me as a parent to determine what I think is best for my child, but times are so different now and if I couldn’t get a baby sitter I might wait until it comes out on Red Box or something. 🙂  Just my 2 cents.

By the way, my mom took me to see “Stand By Me” which was Rated R when I was 14 or 15.  I had read the Stephen King book and was so excited to see it.  It is funny thinking back to what constituted a rating of R back then.  If you have seen the movie, you will know what I mean.  Nowadays I imagine the movie would fall into the PG-13 rating.  Isn’t it a little sad how things change and how tolerance as a whole is so much less than it used to be.

Ok, off my soapbox.

Thanks for reading!

 

3 Responses to “appropriate ?”

  1. I didn’t read the middle portion of this post b/c I want to see the movie and didn’t know if there was anything in there that I don’t know about, but I did read the beginning and end. I think people take movie ratings WAY to lightly these days. It’s rated PG-13 for a reason. I guess standards for what children show know about and be exposed to at certain ages may have changed, but mine haven’t. I teach 6th graders and the movies they come in talking about horrify me. A few years ago, a parent took about 7 of the 6th graders I teach to the movies to see Saw! (Don’t know which number in the series.) She had all of the other parents’ permission! I just can’t imagine it…

  2. happysiera Says:

    agreed! kids definitely grow up way too fast …

    when i was little, i remember my mom wouldn’t let my brother watch the simpsons since she thought bart was a bad influence – lol! for me, the one i remember the most was not being able to watch ‘silence of the lambs’! of course i was just 12 … but i’ve still never seen it – hahaha!

    we, however, will have to hide our ‘dexter’ among other things and make sure we get out the school lunch box containing ‘school house rock’ 😉

    oh – and i will respond to the questions tomorrow! thanks for the link love!

  3. I am completely with you on this. What are people thinking?! Also, I am saddened by the movie ratings now, too. Pretty soon, G is going to be something I don’t approve of my hypothetical kids seeing.


Leave a Reply

