now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

finally . . . February 22, 2012

What a crazy day this has been regarding my medications.  So I was supposed to receive my IVF medications on Tuesday.  When it was getting to be the afternoon, I decided to call the pharmacy to see if there was a tracking number they could give me.  After being on hold for what seemed a longer than normal time, the pharmacist said, “They are actually right here.”

Apparently they did not get sent, for some unknown reason and I was told would be delivered on Wednesday.  She even said “good thing you called.”  Really?  Ya think?

So today around 10:30 or 11am I decide to call the pharmacy back to see about that tracking number.  I was told the meds have gone out and I get the number and the phone number of the delivery service (United Delivery Service to be exact).  I don’t do anything with it yet, figuring I will give them a couple more hours.

At about 1:30 I decide to call the delivery company.  I gave them my name and zip code and the woman on phone told me they show that it was delivered about 15 minutes ago.  Now we had JUST been out front with the dog before I made the phone call and there was nothing there.  We had been home all day and no one had come to the door.

She indicated that they could tell where the driver checked in because of a GPS signal and it showed that he checked in between our house and the neighbor’s house behind us (we live on the corner).  So she put me on hold to get a hold of the driver to see if he was still in the neighborhood and my husband went over to the neighbor’s house.

Sure enough the package was on the front porch!  Now mind you, we live on a different street than our neighbor and our house number is 4 numbers and theirs is 5.  There is nothing similar about our address at all except the city.  Obviously he did not check this and I don’t even know if he rang the bell as I don’t know if anyone was home.

The woman with the delivery company told me she was unable to get the driver on the phone and I told her my husband got the package.  She said she would immediately report the driver to the supervisor and it will be investigated.  I was so shocked by all of this.  It was a blatant disregard of everything.  These are medications and the driver just didn’t care!  Thankfully my “woman’s intuition” kicked in and I made that call.

A good reminder for all of us, to be proactive and never be afraid to ask the questions and find out that information!

So I now have all my meds (picture below).  It is a little intimidating with all the syringes and everything.

It looks like I will be on 4-5 injections a day.

2 of the Microdose Lupron each day

1 Menopur

1 Follistim (some days I will probably have to do 2 Follistim because the way the dosing pen works and the amount in the vials)

But it will all be worth it when I get to have that baby!

Thanks for reading!

 

4 Responses to “finally . . .”

  1. Princess Says:

    Way to be proactive Melissa! I love how you labeled your meds too. 🙂 Ps. I got the package you sent me…will pass it on to my talent and production depts. Thank you!

  2. queenelizabethi Says:

    Intimidating for sure! But I LOVE the last line of this post. That made my heart happy when I read it. Good luck!

  3. happysiera Says:

    glad you questioned them and found what is rightfully yours! eeep to that stress!

    for the follistim – i was able to take partial cartridge into my re and they combined them so it was just one injections … maybe yours could do this, too …

    can’t wait to hear about your calendar!

  4. Aiza Says:

    Wow! That’s a lot of meds you got there but you’re right. It will all be worth it when you have your baby in your arms. Hugs!


Leave a Reply

