now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

10,000 steps . . . February 7, 2012

So I purchased a pedometer a couple of weeks ago.  And because I am scatter-brained some times, I tend to forget to put it on, especially those days when I actually go for a walk.  Today I remembered!!!  I have actually been wearing it all day.  Well, I didn’t put it on 1st thing in the morning, but that was probably only about 50 steps or so.

As of 7:30pm (when I am starting this post) I am at 7,023 steps.  Of that, about 4,400 was from our walk this morning, the rest has been at home and the couple of errands I have run.  I feel pretty good about that.  The “experts” want you to walk 10,000 steps each day, which is equivalent to 5 miles (2000 steps = 1 mile).  I think if I still worked in the office environment that would be totally doable as long as I still carved out actual exercise each day.  But working at home, I would have to do another workout.  But it seems like a catch-22.

According to the Mayo Clinic, you should get at least 150 minutes  of moderate exercise a week (such as brisk walking).   Lets say that is 25 minutes 6 days a week.  And more health benefits are achieved at 300 minutes per week (50 minutes 6 days a week).  Walking 2 miles takes us about 35-40 minutes.  So we are getting a pretty good workout.  But now there are others who say you need to walk 10,000 steps each day.  I also don’t think they mean those steps to include walking to the bathroom, or to the kitchen to fix lunch.  But let’s look at today.  I have already walked briskly for about 40 minutes.  So I am right where the Mayo Clinic tells me I need to be.  But to make up the 3,000 steps I am lacking I would have to probably walk another 25-30 minutes.  So if I did this everyday for 6 days I would be at about 360-420 minutes per week.  The pounds should be dropping off!  Right?  Who knows?  I think the point is to get off your butt and exercise.  And I don’t think walking to the snack machine counts.  LOL.

Will I ever walk the 10,000 steps?  Maybe.  I think I feel more inclined to try now that I have this pedometer clipped to my waistband.  It almost feels like a challenge.  Maybe tomorrow I will try to see if I can get there.  May mean I have to hop on the treadmill later in the day.  But that isn’t a bad thing is it?  🙂

Oh and today is Day 2 of no soda!  I tried to stop cold turkey last week.  Didn’t do that great.  Although I did not have a soda every day.  So I am getting there.  Craved some today, but resisted the urge.   I did drink diet which I don’t think is as bad as regular, but I want to be off it completely.  That is the goal!  We may go to a movie this week and I usually get one there.  May still get one, but we haven’t been going that often so I don’t think it would hurt.  As long as I can stay off it most days I am happy! 🙂

Thanks for reading!

 

One Response to “10,000 steps . . .”

  1. I have a fitbit and it counts the step too, isn’t it crazy all the miles we walk inside our home?


Leave a Reply

