now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

before the appointment and day 29 January 29, 2012

Well, tomorrow is our follow-up appointment with the doctor (after IVF#2 failed).  It seems like it has been so long since it happened.  Almost, what is the point?  I am sure that she will say it was a chromosomal thing that caused the miscarriage.  We aren’t going to be able to start another round right away unless they decide we are the 1-millionth customer and give it to us for free.  (wishful thinking)  So I just don’t know what to expect.

I will prepare a list of questions.  They will have more to do with our next cycle.  It is helpful to chat with other women who have gone through IVF.  To see what protocol their doctor’s used.  I know every woman, and for that matter every doctor is different.  But at least it makes me seem somewhat educated when I can ask the doctor about a certain drug that someone else took and why I didn’t.  Will this protocol work better for me?  Or that one?

I know the goal is to get as many eggs as we can possibly get.  The first cycle was pretty good…the 2nd one not as many.  They used the same dosage of the same drug.  So it tells me we need to do something different the next time.  I am at the point that I would tell her I would take 20 shots a day if it meant that this time would work.  I know it will not be that, but this will truly be our last time, unless we win the lottery or the state of Illinois decides to start covering IVF for self-insured people.

So I will probably talk about our appointment in tomorrow night’s blog.  And it is the last day of my 30-day challenge.  I have enjoyed the challenge of blogging every day for 30 days.  So much so, I am thinking of trying to find another 30-day challenge somewhere.

Day 29:  What is your favorite book?

Can’t say that I have a favorite book.  When I was younger in my teens, I started reading Stephen King books.  Loved them.  Of course I would read them right before I went to bed.  Big mistake!  LOL  I do still like Stephen King, I actually have a couple of books of his sitting on the shelf that I haven’t started yet.

I have also enjoyed reading all the Christmas books by Donna VanLiere; such as “The Christmas Shoes,” “The Christmas Blessing”, etc.  Very heartwarming and easy reads.  You can read one of those books over a weekend. 🙂 I am interested in reading her story “Finding Grace.”  In it she talks about miscarriage and her difficulty with infertility.  I will read it someday, just have to be in the right frame of mind.

One book I am looking forward to reading is “Fairy Tale Interrupted: A Memoir of Life, Love, and Loss”, written by John Kennedy Jr.’s assistant.  I read excerpts in People Magazine and it sounds like it will be good.  Oh and I am a sucker for books about animals, or more specifically dogs.  My hubby got me “Rescuing Sprite” by Mark Levin when we were dating and I loved it.  Have lots of kleenex handy.  Along those lines there is a book in my Amazon shopping cart, “A Big Little Life” by Deane Koontz that I will read eventually.  Also on my list are the memoirs of Julie Andrews and Katherine Hepburn.  Dang there are a lot of books I want to read…I better get started! 🙂

Thanks for reading!

 

One Response to “before the appointment and day 29”

  1. Aiza Says:

    Wow has it been 30 days already? Time sure flies! I love your 30 day blog challenge 🙂


Leave a Reply

