now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

celebrity and day 14 . . . January 14, 2012

OK, so last night while I was waiting for hubby to come home I was surfing on my laptop and watching a little TV.  I saw a few commercials over the course of an hour or so for those weight-loss programs; Jenny Craig, Nutra System, Weight Watchers.  We have all seen them.  The spokesperson is usually a celebrity who has lost a lot of weight by using the same services that I, as a consumer, could purchase.  It started me thinking.

Do these celebrities really do all of the program and lose the weight themselves, or do they have a team working for them?  My guess is that they have a personal trainer, personal chef and might even have a bit of help in other areas as well.  Why do we have to be motivated to join a weight-loss program because a certain celebrity uses it?  I have always felt that I would much rather see “real” women work hard to lose the weight.  Be able to fit the exercise into their busy schedule without the use of a personal trainer that makes house calls.  A “real” woman who cooks healthy meals for their family instead of having a personal chef do it for them.  To me that is much more motivating.  Sure if we all had the money and excess amount of time, we could all probably get into great shape or some might even choose to have surgery.  Realistically it just doesn’t make sense to me.  But it sells.

If it motivates you to see a celebrity lose weight, that is great!  I say whatever can motivate you to get moving and eat better, is worth it if it works for you.   Just keep in mind that the ideal is to lose it slowly and to keep it off.  Weight does not pile on overnight and you can not expect it to fall off over night.  Be realistic with your goals and you will achieve them.  Don’t get discouraged if you have one bad day.  Vow to do better the next.  How is that for a pep talk? 🙂

DAY 14:  Tell us about your funniest Clomid/Follistim/injectables mood-swing story.  If you don’t have one, tell us your funniest general infertility drug story.

Ok, so I don’t really have a specific mood-swing story.  I had days when I was just crabby and days when all I wanted to do was cry.  Those medications really do a number on you period!  But as far as a “funny” infertility drug story…well, the 1st IVF cycle was ok.  I was so nervous about it all I was oh so very careful each time I had to give myself injections.  However, the 2nd IVF it was all old hat to me.  I was so confident about it that each night I felt like I could do it in my sleep.  But there was one evening, I was getting everything ready, cleaning off the countertop, cleaned the injection site, cleaned the Follistim Pen and cartridge.  I put the cartridge in the pen and the needle on the pen and I even made sure there were no air bubbles.  Then I stuck it in my belly.  I started to push the button on the end to dispense the medicine and it wasn’t moving. DUH!  I forgot to dial the dose!  So I took it out, changed needles and dialed the dose and had to stick myself twice!  What a dork!  I learned my lesson after that one!

Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

