now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

1 pound and Day 4 . . . January 4, 2012

Yesterday I really fought the urge for sweets.  I kept thinking of the Christmas cookies I had in the freezer and then I thought I could break off a small piece of the white chocolate I had left over from my attempt at making cake balls.  But I resisted.  I grabbed that portion sized bag of peppermint yogurt covered pretzels and that helped.  And for me chewing gum helps when I need a fix.  I weighed myself this morning (as I do every morning) and I am down 1 pound!!  YAY!!  SO when I get that urge for sweets again I will think about that pound.  But I am not going to get angry at myself if I slip and have something.  I believe that if the urge gets so strong, it is best to just have a little something to tame it.  Just don’t over do it.  Instead of  an entire candy bar, maybe a Hersey kiss.  Of course as this is my blog and I am trying to be as honest as possible, there are times when you just have to eat that whole candy bar!  That is the way it goes.  As far as exercise, I walked the dog yesterday for a mile and then this morning, hubby and I took the dog for 2 miles.  I got him to do it this morning, because I had a feeling that if we waited we would not feel like doing it later.  Glad we did it!  Ok, on to the challenge!

DAY 4 – Besides Mother’s Day, what is the toughest holiday for you as an infertile?

Christmas.  More so this year since shortly before, I miscarried.  Aside from that it is just doing all the Christmasy things you do and thinking how wonderful it would be to be doing those with our child(ren).  Decorating the tree, baking cookies, going to see Santa, Christmas Eve Mass, reading “Twas the Night Before Christmas,”, putting cookies out for Santa and then seeing their little faces on Christmas morning.  All the things I remember doing with my mom and just yearning for the day to be able to do them with our child(ren).  I just have to believe that we will get to experience that someday.

Thanks for reading.

 

One Response to “1 pound and Day 4 . . .”

  1. It looks like you walked a lot. It can only be good for you 🙂 Losing 1 pound is great, keep it up!

    You are right, it is wonderful to share those things with a child. It took us 3 years before I got pregnant with my daughter. I wanted a baby so much and was scared that it never happens! Hang on there, I am sure you will get a little baby to love one day too!


Leave a Reply

