now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

hodge podge . . . November 11, 2011

Filed under: IVF/FET Journey — nowandevermore @ 12:31 PM

Ok, so it has been awhile since I have posted.  Been a bit of a crazy week so I will try to catch everyone up.

Friday, November 4, I had my baseline appointment.  Standard blood work and ultrasound.  I was also given my timeline.  That is always a bit overwhelming.  But overall the appointment went well.  Hubby was out-of-town, but he had been to many of those appointments so I knew he would not miss anything.  He does always make for some good comic relief though.  🙂

So being the anal person I am, I got my timeline all transcribed onto a calendar.  A little daunting, but doable.   And my beta test will be on Dec 2.  YIKES!   (Note:  The Estradiol is not taken at 2am.  I take 2 in the am and 2 in the pm.)

So after my appointment I decided to undertake a painting project.  Since I am being positive and know that this FET will work, I wanted to get our bedroom and the spare bedroom painted before I have the transfer.  Now this project took me a lot longer than I thought it would.  I finally finished it all at about 10:30pm Saturday night!  After moving all the furniture around and stepping up and down on a stool, I was sufficiently tired and sore.  But glad I did it and it looked great!  Sunday of course I felt horrible.  Sore from the painting and then add to that a bad migraine.  I figured it was either from the meds (I added the estrogen on Saturday) or due to the weather.  Yes I am one of those lucky people who get migraines with certain weather systems.  And NOTHING helps the pain.  But once that system moves through the pain is gone.

Hubby got home on Sunday evening and then Monday we discovered we had mice.  After cleaning out one of the cabinets, we set a trap and ended up catching 4.  One after another.  I was thoroughly disgusted and mortified, but a few friends of mine assured me that it is no reflection on how clean I keep a house.   After 2 days of no more mice I am convinced that we are rodent free!  (I almost didn’t share that with you, but such is life and sometimes you have to deal with things that you never thought you would have to.)

So that was probably the most exciting part of my week.  Pretty sad.  But not much going on with the FET process.  My next appointment if 11/16 and then the real fun begins…waiting for Sunday, 11/20!  I am very excited about this.  I feel good about this one!  I am sufficiently “cleaned” out, my uterus anyway, from the polyp removal and d&c and now these little embryos have no excuse not to attach!

On a side note, not sure if any of you saw the latest on Mariah Carey.  But apparently she lost all of her 70 pounds she gained while pregnant with the twins and amazingly has a flat tummy!  The last 30 pounds she lost while on Jenny Craig and the 1st 40?  Well, she said that dropped off quickly because it was all water weight!  REALLY????  I know I have never been pregnant, but I do not think it is possible to have 40 pounds of water weight!  My theory is that since she had a c-section, she had a little tummy tuck and that is how she dropped a lot of the weight.  There is no way she could have dropped 70 pounds so quickly!  Granted I know she has personal trainers, chef, and whatever else the normal person does not have at their disposal, but does she really think we are that gullible???

I did a little research and came up with this:  In the average woman you should gain between 25-30 pounds and this is how it is allocated (estimates of course):

Weight distribution in the average woman:

  • 7 1/2 pounds is about how much the baby will weigh by the end of pregnancy.
  • 1 1/2 pounds is how much the placenta weighs.
  • 4 pounds is attributed to increased fluid volume.
  • 2 pounds is the weight of the uterus.
  • 2 pounds is the weight of breast tissue.
  • 4 pounds is because of increased blood volume.
  • 7 pounds is attributed to maternal stores of fat, protein and other nutrients.
  • 2 pounds for the amniotic fluid.
  • Total: 30 pounds

So even with her having twins and gaining 70 pounds there is no way 40 pounds of that was water.   I hate when you see a story on the news and it is blatantly false or spinned in such a way to make people think that this person did something incredible!  When in reality they did not!  Okay, that is just my 2 cents on the subject.

Well, hope everyone has a wonderful day!

Thanks for reading!

 

2 Responses to “hodge podge . . .”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    I love your calendar. What program did you use to make it? Crazy about Mariah…. I agree though… she must have had something done.

  2. I use excel. I actually downloaded the calendar here and “made it my own: 🙂
    http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/templates/results.aspx?qu=calendars&av=zxl#ai:TC101927374|


Leave a Reply

