now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

Superstition . . . November 2, 2011

Filed under: IVF/FET Journey — nowandevermore @ 9:37 PM

I am not really a superstitious person.  I let my husband see me in my wedding dress before the wedding.  I have accidentally broken mirrors.  But at the same time, if I spill salt, I toss a little over my left shoulder.  I knock on wood.  Maybe I believe a little, or I am just not willing to take my chances.  So today when I read a post on a IVF community board about taking a little test to see how many kids you will have and what their gender will be, I was curious.

Did I really think that holding a chain over my left hand will tell me about my progeny?  No, but it seemed harmless, so why not.  So I took the chain and locket that my husband gave me on our first date (it seemed perfect) and held it with my right hand over my left hand that was lying palm up on my desk.  I kept the right hand as steady as I could.  And after what seemed to be about 2-3 minutes it started moving in a circle and then after several revolutions, it stopped.  Then I waited another couple of minutes to see if I was destined to have any more kids and nothing.  So according to this “test”  we will have one child and it will be a girl.  Sounds great to me!!  In fact I kind of always imagined we would have a daughter.

And then this is where my brain kicks in.  Did my desire to have a child subconsciously make me move my fingers ever so slightly so that I would think that cosmic forces were telling me we would have one daughter?  Or was there some sort of magnetic field under my desk making the locket move?   I guess only time will tell.  I am not going to run out and buy a bunch of pink baby clothes because of it.

I believe that God has a plan for us and it is up to us to have faith in His plan.  I choose to have faith in God and not in an old wives’ tale or superstition.  That doesn’t mean that I can’t have a little fun waiting for His plan to unfold.  In this crazy world of IVF, maybe this test, true or not, helps as a tiny little reminder to have that faith.  Or maybe it is just something to give us a giggle so that we don’t cry because of our crazy hormones.  Either way, it was fun.

And yes, I will continue to toss the salt if spilled and to knock on wood.

Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

