now and ever more

each journey begins with one step . . . a baby step

I can’t watch . . . October 28, 2011

Filed under: IVF/FET Journey — nowandevermore @ 9:39 PM

So I am sitting in bed trying not to watch the baseball game.  Don’t get me wrong, ordinarily I would be watching it.  Afterall, it is the St. Louis Cardinals, my hometown team and it is game 7 of the World Series!!  I just don’t want to have the memory of seeing them lose the game.  No I am not a fair-weather fan, I love my team but who needs the stress!  LOL!  So I sit here trying to distract myself from it, tuning in every so often to see the score.

It got me thinking.  Thinking about this baby making journey we are on.  How often do we try to distract ourselves so that we don’t have to think about trying to get pregnant or especially during the dreaded two-week wait?  Distracting ourselves so we won’t constantly obsess over every little symptom we may be having and thinking it either means I am pregnant or I am about to get my period.

Vacations?  Nights out with friends.  It doesn’t help.  Because when you decide to start trying, babies are EVERYWHERE!!!  I have seen more pregnant women in the last 2 1/2 years than I did in all my years before we started trying.  Ok, that may be an exaggeration, but you get my point.  As you can see I suck at distracting myself.

So here I am trying my best at distraction.  Distraction from Game 7 of the World Series.  Distraction from cycle number 29.  And here I am failing at both.  Bottom of the 7th inning…Cards lead 5-2 and I know in 30 minutes I have to give myself another shot of Lupron.   So both are ever-present in my mind.

But that is ok.  The game will be over in another few innings and I won’t have to think about it anymore (at least not until next baseball season).  And in about 3 weeks I will have my embryos transfer and hopefully not have to think about getting pregnant again (at least not for another 9 months).  🙂

Thanks for reading.

**UPDATE**

CARDS WIN WORLD SERIES!!!!  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

